Denturologist

What is a denturologist?

The denturologist specializes in dental prostheses. He makes them, adjusts them, installs them and repairs them. Because he ensures the best manufacturing of dental prostheses, that he makes the precise adjustment and that he offers a follow-up adapted to each, the denturologist offers a very personalized professional service to his patients.

His expertise is put to their service to offer quality custom prostheses, which meet their desires and their personality while complying with the strict standards established by the Order of Denturologists of Quebec, which grants him his right to practice. In fact, the denturologist creates a close bond with his patients, in the most professional and human way..

The denturologist is also adequately trained to adapt to many situations and to the various people he helps. For example, he replaces broken teeth in teens who have had an accident while playing hockey. He can also make dental prostheses on implants for people who want to take charge of their health or even adjust the prostheses of elderly people who experience pain while eating. Note that the placement of dental implants is carried out by the dentist and that the denturologist manufactures dental prostheses.

The removable partial denture can replace at least one missing tooth. When several teeth need to be replaced on the same dental arch, a single prosthesis is sufficient, even if the teeth are not adjacent.

 

This type of prosthesis consists of a metal frame and a resin structure on which the "false" teeth are placed. Hooks are used to fix the structure to the remaining healthy teeth. The device also rests on the gums. To learn more about dental prostheses we have created a comparative guide to crowns, implants, posts and bridge.

Partial denture

Complete prosthesis (dentures)

Removable complete dentures are used to replace all the teeth in a dental arch. They are also commonly called "dentures". The false teeth are made of acrylic resin. They are distributed along a resin base which imitates the gum. There are also flexible prostheses made from a nylon-based material.

 

For the upper arch, the prosthesis is retained by the palate thanks to a suction cup phenomenon. On the lower arch, a special adhesive allows to fix and stabilize the dentures on the gum. Removable, these prostheses can be easily cleaned.

DISCOVER HOW WE CAN HELP YOU
TO HAVE PERFECT TEETH

Implant dental prosthesis

The dental implant is a prosthesis used to replace the root of the missing tooth. It is in the form of a "screw", most often made of titanium, which the dental surgeon places in the alveolar bone.

 

A pillar is then added; this one will be able to support a prosthesis, namely:

  • A crown: this prosthesis imitates the visible part of the tooth, whether in color, size or shape. It can be ceramic-metallic or any ceramic.

  • A bridge: this prosthesis can replace one tooth or 2 to 3 adjacent teeth. Without an implant, it requires the support of two abutment teeth, which must be prepped. With implant, this operation is useless. A bridge can thus be placed on 1, 4 (All-on-Four) or 6 ((All-on-Six) implants, depending on the number of teeth to be replaced on the dental arch.

  • A full fixed prosthesis: for more stability, a complete prosthesis can be placed on several implants. The “dentures” are thus perfectly fixed; no risk of losing it during the day. And the alveolar bone is stimulated by the implants.

Fixed and removable prosthesis

Dentures can be fixed or removable.


On the side of fixed prostheses, we find:

  • The crown, for the visible part of the tooth

  • The bridge, for the visible part of several contiguous teeth

  • The dental implant, to replace a root

  • The post, made of fiberglass. anchor in the root as a form of retention

  • Dental veneer: these fine films essentially pursue an aesthetic, not therapeutic, goal. They cover certain defects in the dentition, such as an overlap or a diastema, discoloration of the enamel, stains resistant to dental bleaching, etc.

 

Generally more economical, removable prostheses are:

 

  • Partial

  • Complete (dentures)

Depending on the chosen way of teeth replacement, the dental surgeon offers you the most suitable prosthesis through a detailed estimate.

 

At Ton Dentiste Dental Center, our dentists and denturologists can meet, under one roof, all of your needs for fixed and removable prostheses on implants, as well as those for dentures and partial dentures not anchored by implants.

© 2020 par Ton Dentiste

Tel: (450) 472-9898

2850 boul des Promenades suite 200,

Ste-Marthe sur le Lac, Québec J0N 1P0 

  • White Facebook Icon

Denturologiste

Qu'est-ce qu'un denturologiste?

Le denturologiste est spécialisé en prothèses dentaires. Il les fabrique, les ajuste, les pose et les répare. Parce qu’il assure au mieux la fabrication des prothèses dentaires, qu’il en fait l’ajustement précis et qu’il offre un suivi adapté à chacun, le denturologiste offre un service professionnel très personnalisé à ses patients.

Son expertise est mise à leur service pour offrir des prothèses sur mesure de qualité, qui répondent à leurs désirs et à leur personnalité tout en étant conformes aux normes strictes établies par l’Ordre des denturologistes du Québec, qui lui accorde son droit de pratique. En fait, le denturologiste crée un lien étroit avec ses patients, tout en répondant à une façon de faire, professionnelle et bien encadrée, en soins dentaires.

Le denturologiste est également formé adéquatement pour s’adapter à de nombreuses situations et aux diverses personnes qu’il aide. Par exemple, il remplace les dents brisées des adolescents qui ont eu un accident en jouant au hockey. Il peut aussi fabriquer des prothèses dentaires sur implants pour des personnes qui souhaitent prendre leur santé en main ou encore, ajuster les prothèses de personnes âgées qui ressentent des douleurs en mangeant. Sachez que la pose d’implants dentaires est réalisée par le dentiste et que le denturologiste fabrique les prothèses dentaires.

La prothèse partielle amovible permet de remplacer au moins une dent manquante. Quand plusieurs dents doivent être remplacées sur la même arcade dentaire, une seule prothèse suffit, même si les dents ne sont pas adjacentes.

Ce type de prothèses est constitué d’une armature métallique et d’une structure en résine sur laquelle sont placées les « fausses » dents. Des crochets permettent de fixer la structure sur les dents saines restantes. L’appareil s’appuie également sur les gencives. Pour en savoir plus sur les prothèses dentaires nous avons créé un guide comparatif des couronnes, implants, pivot et pont.

Prothèse partielle

Prothèse complète (dentier)

Les prothèses complètes amovibles servent à remplacer toutes les dents d’une arcade dentaire. On les appelle aussi communément « dentiers ». Les fausses dents sont fabriquées en résine acrylique. Elles se répartissent le long d’une base en résine qui imite la gencive. Il existe aussi des prothèses souples fabriquées dans un matériau à base de nylon.

Pour l’arcade supérieure, la prothèse est retenue par le palais grâce à un phénomène de ventouse. Sur l’arcade inférieure, une colle spéciale permet de fixer et de stabiliser le dentier sur la gencive. Amovibles, ces prothèses peuvent être facilement nettoyées.

DÉCOUVREZ COMMENT NOUS POUVONS VOUS AIDER
À AVOIR DES DENTS PARFAITES

Prothèse dentaire sur implant

L’implant dentaire est une prothèse qui sert à remplacer la racine de la dent manquante. Elle se présente sous la forme d’une « vis », le plus souvent en titane, que le chirurgien-dentiste place dans l’os alvéolaire.

 

Un pilier est ensuite ajouté ; celui-ci pourra supporter une prothèse, à savoir :

  • Une couronne : cette prothèse imite la partie visible de la dent, que ce soit en couleur, en taille ou en forme. Elle peut être céramo-métallique ou tout céramique. Les couronnes métalliques sont généralement réservées aux dents « du fond », comme les molaires.

  • Un bridge (pont dentaire) : cette prothèse peut remplacer une dent ou 2 à 3 dents adjacentes. Sans implant, elle nécessite le soutien de deux dents piliers, lesquelles doivent être taillées. Avec implant, cette opération est inutile. Un bridge peut ainsi être posé sur 1, 4 (All-on-Four) ou 6 ((All-on-Six) implants, selon le nombre de dents à remplacer sur l’arcade dentaire.

  • Une prothèse amovible : pour davantage de stabilité, une prothèse complète peut être posée sur plusieurs implants. Le « dentier » est ainsi parfaitement fixé ; aucun risque de le perdre au cours de la journée. Et l’os alvéolaire est stimulé par les implants.

Prothèse fixe et amovible

Les prothèses dentaires peuvent être fixes ou amovibles.


Du côté des prothèses fixes, on retrouve :

  • La couronne, pour la partie visible de la dent

  • Le pont, pour la partie visible de plusieurs dents contiguës

  • L’implant dentaire, pour remplacer une racine

  • Le pivot, fait de fibre de verre. s'ancre dans la racine comme forme de rétention

  • L’onlay, un moignon métallique qui renforce la dent et permet de recevoir une couronne

  • Les facettes dentaires : ces fines pellicules poursuivent essentiellement un but esthétique, non thérapeutique. Elles viennent recouvrir certains défauts de la dentition, comme un chevauchement ou un diastème, une décoloration de l’émail, des taches résistantes au blanchiment dentaire…

Généralement plus économiques, les prothèses amovibles sont :

  • Partielles

  • Complètes (dentier)

En fonction de la restauration à opérer, le chirurgien-dentiste vous propose la prothèse la plus adaptée à travers un devis détaillé.

Au Centre Ton Dentiste, nos dentistes et denturologistes peuvent répondre, sous un même toit, a tous vos besoins en Prothèses fixes et amovibles sur implants, ainsi qu'a ceux des dentiers et partiels non ancrés par implants. 

© 2020 par Ton Dentiste

Tel: (450) 472-9898

2850 boul des Promenades suite 200,

Ste-Marthe sur le Lac, Québec J0N 1P0 

  • White Facebook Icon